Tags

,

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) has just posted a nice review of The Aviator, penned by Simon Litten. Here’s the rub:

Against my will this book charmed me. The world is the world, there was no tub thumping decrying the future to come. Nor is the perfidiousness of politicians lamented or bemoaned; that is taken as just one of the vicissitudes of life. No, it was in the way Mr Renowden has created a believable character in Jenny the airship and her relationship with Lemmy, which was very deftly handled. Also I liked his approach to technology and some of the advances posited in The Aviator – well outside the usual and all the better for it.

The Aviator is a surprise of a book, a smoked salmon, lettuce and tomato sandwich in a fresh mixed grain when one was expecting stale leavings of white bread around egg and vegemite. I look forward to book two with interest piqued.

Makes me hungry. Time for lunch? No smoked salmon, but I have got a tin of tuna in the cupboard and some ciabatta on the go…

